• Loot Pursuit
  • Posts
  • ☕Outriders Subtly Taking Shots at Destiny

☕Outriders Subtly Taking Shots at Destiny

With good reason

It’s no secret. I haven’t been a fan of Destiny’s Transmog system since it was announced. Here’s a video I made back in April about how I thought it wasn’t great for players.

Outriders announced their Transmog system yesterday. What they had to say about Transmog seems like a clear jab at Destiny’s version.

And I’m all for it.

Image

Sadly, it Probably Doesn’t Matter

In the 7 months of Armor Synthesis, the only thing Bungie has said about it is how they were removing a small part of the unnecessary grind.

Destiny is an unmovable mountain of a franchise that won’t be affected by other games. Every dead “Destiny killer” proves that.

It would be great for Bungie to remove the Transmog cap, but if they refuse to listen to their own player base, Outriders won’t even appear on their radar.

The worst part is, Outriders’ system feels like what Destiny’s should be, but Destiny players don’t care anymore. Or more likely, they’ve given up pushing back on it.

Bungie’s Plan Worked

Ultimately, Bungie’s plan worked. They successfully boiled the frog.

A very bad version of Transmog was added to Destiny. Aka, the frog (players) was put in the pot.

We started to feel the water get hot so Bungie made the system a smidge better. We forgot about the heat as we enjoyed our shallow victory.

Months later, we’re cooked and there’s no end in sight for at least the removal of the Transmog cap.

Bungie Makes it Hard to Support Destiny

Moments like this, when you can take an outside perspective to Bungie and Destiny, are what keep me from spending a penny on microtransactions.

I spent $10 on Halo’s battle pass after 1 match because I felt Halo was worth supporting.

I’ve played Deep Rock Galactic for a year and a half and Destiny 2 for 4 years (Destiny franchise for 7). I’ve spent more money in DRG for cosmetic ‘microtransactions’ in a fraction of the time compared to Destiny.

I feel like a valued and respected person in one game vs just another stat point in the other.

I want to support Destiny more, but there’s always a reminder not to.

Another quiet week in Destiny. I expect many of you are playing other games right now. What are you playing?

Have a great weekly reset!

~☕Legionless